Gmail changes the way you log in: you will no longer reach with the password

Gmail changes the way you log in

Email from Google will default to two-step authentication to confirm identity.

In short, it will no longer be enough to enter the password to log in to Gmail. Email from Google will default to two-step authentication for your users to confirm their identity.

The company announced in a statement that it will “soon” begin to “automatically implement two-step authentication for all users.”

In other words, there will be an additional security layer of additional security to verify that whoever is entering the password is indeed the owner of the Google account.

According to the company, users “have to confirm that they really are them with a simple touch on a Google message sent to their mobile.”

The objective is to add greater difficulty to hacks or intrusions, both to the messages in the email and to the photographs or list of contacts.

Although it could represent a discomfort for users who intend to enter from a computer or tablet and do not have the cell phone at hand, since in most cases it will be necessary to carry the mobile phone to confirm identity.

Currently there is the possibility of doing the authentication in two steps but in an optional way.

To do this, once the account is entered, click on the dotted icon in the upper right corner of your screen and select the Account option from the drop-down list.

Once inside, you must select the “Security” option, then search the “Sign in to Google” menu and choose the “two-step verification” option.

Changes in Google

This novelty will be known days after a key change begins to be applied from June 1: the photos and video that are part of Google Photos will begin to count as part of the 15GB of storage offered by the company. The novelty ignites the concern of millions of users who use the system to save their files and who now run the risk of reaching its maximum capacity.

Once users reach the limit, they must purchase one of the plans offered by Google’s cloud if they want to continue uploading files. The good news is that all the content that was uploaded up to that date will be exempt from decreasing available cloud memory.